Things To Know
Posted September 28, 2017 | 3:47 PM

Three Hillsborough County Commissioners Formally Join Board

Incumbents Sandy Murman and Les Miller, and new Commissioner Pat Kemp, pledge to do their best for County residents.

Three Hillsborough County Commissioners took the oath of office on Nov. 22 — incumbents Sandra C. Murman and Lesley “Les” Miller, Jr., and newcomer Pat Kemp. Each will serve a four-year term on the seven-member Board.

Murman, a Commissioner since 2012, won another four-year term representing District 1. Miller, who joined the Board in 2010, was re-elected without opposition to represent District 3. Kemp emerged from a field of candidates to win the Countywide, District 6 seat, replacing term-limited former Commissioner Kevin Beckner.

The sworn-in Commissioners join incumbents Victor D. Crist (District 2), Stacy R. White (District 4), Ken Hagen (Countywide, District 5), and Al Higginbotham (Countywide, District 7).
The new Board subsequently elected its leaders for the coming year. White is the new chairman. Murman is vice chairman. Miller is chaplain.

Commissioners praised the group’s collegiality and productivity in recent years.

The re-elected and new members all said a better transportation system and more good-paying jobs are priorities.

Did you miss the ceremony? Watch it online now.



Want more stories like this delivered to your inbox?
Subscribe to the Friday 5